First day as a janitor. Ew.
4:18 p.m. Tuesday, May. 10, 2005


on the positive side, i don't think work can get much worse than it was today. how bad could it be, you ask? let me tell you.

I get there at 7.30 just to be on the safe side. Well. Every door to willkie is locked; i know that the cstore is open, but sandy (my boss) knew about as much as i did (ie, nothing) so that would've just been a dead end. So i chill out around the back entrance of the north tower. Scary-lady loretta (oh come on, great boss name) comes up with some janitors...excuse me, EO (environmental operations) staff with her. I introduce myself and she gives me the blankest stare ever. She gracefully and was gracious enough to not ask questions and figure any poor soul up at 7:30 waiting to work "eo" must be hard up for some damn money. So she says ok, and i go get all "oriented" and drive up to 801 to buy ANOTHER parking pass so i don't get 900 billion dollars worth of tickets. Just to wait around for a half hour. Ugh. Back to work where she tells me to go help brad. It took all my energy not the shout, "Please! for the sake of my sanity, don't make me do it!!!!" becuase, see, i know what was about to happen.

backstory: on my way to get a very chic (har) radio and set of keys, some homeless people/person/werewolf attacked the south dumpster. Every bag was shred open and the contents had flown everywhere. Now. this wasn't just notebooks. OH no. this was food, milk, glass, beer, notebooks, papers, pillows, sex toys (i shit you not), and other things i can't even remember. All soaked from the rain the night before. All stinking since what, saturday?! MAYBE sunday?! So brad and i had to go and spend 4 hours shoveling and re-bagging all of that trash.

i cried a total of 5 times.

I mean, really. I graduated COLLEGE what, 3 days ago, and my first task is to shovel up the worst smelling most soggy and disgusting shit possible?! oh, ;yeah, and someone was nice enough to throw away paint that they bought to touch up their room with and i ruined my most comfy pair of jeans. So i'll have to go buy some tonight. :(

We had a break around 9.30 and i literally just sat by myself and sobbed for about 7 minutes, pulled myself together, finished the job in another 2 hours then went to lunch.

after lunch was much better. Just basic taking things out of rooms like a fridge and bedsheets. And i guess that is what it will be like for most of the rest of the time. And i'm in willkie, so it's all air conditioned. but i was just beyond depressed in the first half of my shift.

So, for now, i'm going to go take a very relaxing nap in the air conditioning and then garden with dave for a bit before seeing "Devil's Playground" at the Cinemat tonight. Whoever wants, may join.

xoxo

last entry :: next entry

"I am my father's daughter. I am not afraid of anything"

Forever in My Heart
Dale B. Spencer
1952-2005

My Angel

~*~Chloe~*~
2000-2005


Comments Accepted Below





Believe in Blue!