Golden Globe Thoughts
11:36 p.m. Monday, Dec. 22, 2003


well, i must say that i am quite...torn.

i am looking right now at the nominees for the golden globes. and the nominations for best drama are ... shaky. Cold Mountain has good vibes for me..though i have not seen it. Yet. And Mystic River (though not yet seen by me..yet) looks okay. I am quite interested in seeing the new Lord of the Rings movie; i've heard nothing but good things about it, yet the 3h20min running time is nerve wracking. heh. plus i am having negative connotations with it that i must insist i push out of my head.

however...i (personally) did not expect Seabiscuit to be nominated. and i'm sorry, i know it was (supposedly) a good movie...but i couldn't bring myself to see a movie with that title. shallow, yes....wrong...i don't think so. please, for the love of god, don't have this be the playout for the Golden Globes:

And the winner for best motion picture, drama is.....
(insert dramatic pause here)
*Chuckle chuckle*
"Sea Biscuit" (Turns to other presenter)
"God that's a bad name for a movie, isn't it?"

**********************************

Howevewr, the torn adjective really comes in the nominees for best comedy. here we have:
Bend it Like Beckham
Finding Nemo
Lost in Translation (though a comedy is not the FIRST word i'd put on it
Big Fish......and
Love Actually

well then.

I have seen all but Big Fish (which hasn't been released yet, but i shall see it the first night i can). This...is a tough decision for me. And i must wait till i see Big Fish to make my ultimate choice...but they are all SO gooood!! Ah! I can't even pick a favorite of the ones i've seeen. Though i would lean towards Love Actually..i've been dying to see it again.

more problems with the nominations.

Russell Crowe is a tool. end of story; he should've quit while he was ahead in gladiator. (which was good; others...not so much)

Tom Cruise..............beyond toolish.

haven't seen the other actors (well, i have but not in their respective roles: Jude Law for Cold Mountain, Sean Penn for Mystic River, and Ben Kingsley for House of Sand and Fog.)

For the nominations for actor in a comedy; my only "quibble" (as my art history prof said) is Jack Nicholson. he isn't that good people and the movie (Somethings gotta give looks like total crap)

I will not go through the rest of the nominations as there are tons.

But i do put forth my request again: Any ideas for fun (legally sober) times during new year's? Drop a line.

oh yes; and thanks for reading

last entry :: next entry

"I am my father's daughter. I am not afraid of anything"

Forever in My Heart
Dale B. Spencer
1952-2005

My Angel

~*~Chloe~*~
2000-2005


Comments Accepted Below





Believe in Blue!