Summer Books
7:48 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003


ok, i figured i'd dedicate an entire entry to the books i've read this summer. God knows there are a ton. :) What can i say, i'm such a geek at heart. I've been reading since i can remember. I was even nerdy enough that when i was in my early teens, i signed up for a book club and i got Sweet Valley High books Mailed to me. It was the highlight of my month. Of course, they (i believe i got 2 or 3 books at a time) were done within a week or so. So, in case you are in need of reading material, i suggest these books. Or at least, these are what i've read....So here you go!

First Person Plural amazing. You must read it. If "split personality/multiple personalities" intrigue you, get this book. I want to buy it. It is the autobiography of a man with DID (dissociative identity disorder) and it is spectacular

The Big Bad Wolf Tells All sexy, funny, good. it was cheesy and had its quirks, but if anything, i found i've been drawn to quirky books

Happiness Cynical. v. funny. i enjoyed it. It is about a self-help book that changes the world. Literally. I hate self help books. I loved this book.

It's my F-ing Birthday Ahhhh....to be nearly 40, not married, dumped and dealing with insane parents....joy. Makes my life look like cake...i liked that. ;)

Where I'm Calling From (Selected Short Stories by Raymond Carver) I love his work. great if you have A.D.D. when it comes to reading ;)

I Am Madame X a book about the subject of a painting in early 20th century paris. (I enjoy "real" people being made into characters in books)

The Man Who Ate the 747 an adorable book about a man who ate a plane for the woman he loves. Cute. Didn't think i'd actually like it, but it was good

Small Ceremonies eh, this one was ok. it started slow and ended VERY slow, but had its high points. Not too bad

House of Leaves Ummm, yeah. I AM now freaked out to go into dark closets....especially ones that literally come from no where. But i wasn't greatly impressed. Very artsy, and very original, but too textbook for me. Literally, and i didn't like Johnny. I had no sympathy for him. So yeah.

The Perfect Elizabeth Cute. I liked this. I hope my sisters and i can be this close. :)

The Nanny Diaries IF i have children, i intend to raise them on my own. Of course, this book wasn't exaclty made for me, but dear Lord. I hope it is more fiction than fact.

Getting Over It I want a "Tom" :) So sweet. But very interesting. Same lines as Bridget Jones, but i liked her writing style.

Paperback Original Very wonderful. I KNEW it. :) But it was definitly an original idea. Absolutely fantastic. And it helps my resolve for not wanting to go to India

Why Girls are Weird: Joe said that he knew and he constantly asked me if i had figured out yet or not. I loved this book. There were so many truthful insights to women (including the love-hate relation with Billy Blanks, and the reasons to hate big boobs). Also very touching. I really enjoyed it.

Running in Heels By the author of "Getting Over It" This started in the normal "quirky" novel...but soon developed into a serious issue with anorexia/bulimia. yet it still had its quirkiness...quirkyness? A decent read.

last entry :: next entry

"I am my father's daughter. I am not afraid of anything"

Forever in My Heart
Dale B. Spencer
1952-2005

My Angel

~*~Chloe~*~
2000-2005


Comments Accepted Below





Believe in Blue!